This is Major: 2014 PGA Championship at Valhalla

PGA 2014
The 2014 PGA Championship from Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, KY begins Thursday, Aug. 6.

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Wednesday, August 6, 2014) – It gives me great pleasure to announce that I have acquired a media pass for the 2014 PGA Championship at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, KY. This will be the very first non-horse racing event that I will cover and needless to say I am pretty pumped. This also will be the first golf tournament I have ever attended so I have a lot to learn. I would consider myself a golf fan but only get out to play maybe three-to-five times per year, usually in scrambles.

25-year-old Rory McIlroy is seeking his third consecutive PGA victory and second career PGA Championship. (Getty Images)

Fresh off of his second consecutive tournament victory at the Bridgestone Invitational last weekend, Rory McIlroy has been made the 5-1 favorite to win the PGA Championship according to

Notable odds to win the 2014 PGA Championship:

  • Rory McIlroy (5-1)
  • Adam Scott (12-1)
  • Sergio Garcia (15-1)
  • Justin Rose (15-1)
  • Rickie Fowler (20-1)
  • Matt Kuchar (20-1)
  • Phil Mickleson (20-1)
  • Keegan Bradley (25-1)
  • Henrik Stenson (25-1)
  • Jim Furyk (30-1)
  • Graeme McDowell (30-1)
  • Charl Schwarzel (30-1)
  • Jordan Speith (30-1)
  • Bubba Watson (30-1)
  • Henrik Stenson (40-1)
  • Tiger Woods (40-1)
14-time major winner Tiger Woods' status is unknown for the 2014 PGA Championship. (Jim Rogash/Getty Imgaes)
14-time major winner Tiger Woods’ status is unknown for the 2014 PGA Championship. (Jim Rogash/Getty Imgaes)

Another notable story-line entering Thursday’s opening round is the status of Tiger Woods, who withdrew from the Bridgestone Invitational after nine holes last Sunday due to a back injury.

Woods, who won the last PGA Championship staged at Valhalla in 2000,  has until his 8:35 a.m. tee-time Thursday morning to make a decision. He has been paired with Phil Mickleson and Padraig Harrington, which would certainly attract the biggest fan-draw of any threesome should Woods remain in the tournament.

Here is the full list of pairings and the tee sheet for Thursday’s opening round, from

Morning wave off No. 1:

Tee Time Players
7:30 AM Roberto Castro Russell Knox Brian Norman
7:40 AM Charles Howell III Aaron Krueger Joost Luiten
7:50 AM Jamie Broce George Coetzee Billy Horschel
8:00 AM Pablo Larrazabal Brian Stuard Brendon Todd
8:10 AM Fredrik Jacobson Nick Watney Brendon de Jonge
8:20 AM Kevin Chappell Matt Every Ross Fisher
8:30 AM Rich Beem Mark Brooks John Daly
8:40 AM K.J. Choi Brian Harman Thongchai Jaidee
8:50 AM Thomas Bjorn Harris English Kevin Stadler
9:00 AM Stewart Cink Jamie Donaldson Hyung-Sung Kim
9:10 AM Rafael Cabrera-Bello Stephen Gallacher Jason Kokrak
9:20 AM Ryan Helminen Edoardo Molinari Kevin Streelman
9:30 AM Rob Corcoran Pat Perez Brendan Steele

Morning wave off No. 10:

Tee Time Players
7:35 AM Frank Esposito Robert Karlsson Koumei Oda
7:45 AM Angel Cabrera Hideki Matsuyama Patrick Reed
7:55 AM Michael Block Shaun Micheel Colin Montgomerie
8:05 AM Victor Dubuisson Ernie Els Rickie Fowler
8:15 AM Adam Scott Jordan Spieth Lee Westwood
8:25 AM Jason Day Ian Poulter Jimmy Walker
8:35 AM Padraig Harrington Phil Mickelson Tiger Woods
8:45 AM Brooks Koepka Graeme McDowell Brandt Snedeker
8:55 AM Jim Furyk Miguel Angel Jimenez Charl Schwartzel
9:05 AM Matt Kuchar Louis Oosthuizen Justin Rose
9:15 AM Marc Leishman Boo Weekley Bernd Wiesberger
9:25 AM Russell Henley David McNabb Marc Warren
9:35 AM Mikko Ilonen George McNeill Jerry Smith

Afternoon wave off No. 1:

Tee Time Players
12:45 PM Ryo Ishikawa Matt Pesta Rory Sabbatini
12:55 PM Matteo Manassero Scott Stallings Eric Williamson
1:05 PM Jonas Blixt Erik Compton Webb Simpson
1:15 PM Graham DeLaet Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano Gary Woodland
1:25 PM Sergio Garcia Steve Stricker Tom Watson
1:35 PM Ryan Moore Kenny Perry Henrik Stenson
1:45 PM Martin Kaymer Rory McIlroy Bubba Watson
1:55 PM Keegan Bradley Jason Dufner Y.E. Yang
2:05 PM Luke Donald J.B. Holmes Francesco Molinari
2:15 PM Darren Clarke Zach Johnson Richard Sterne
2:25 PM Paul Casey Tim Clark Kevin Na
2:35 PM Steven Bowditch Ben Crane Rod Perry
2:45 PM Jason Bohn David Hronek Chris Stroud

Afternoon wave off No. 10:

Tee Time Players
12:40 PM Shane Lowry Ryan Palmer Bob Sowards
12:50 PM Scott Brown Charley Hoffman Dustin Volk
1:00 PM Stuart Deane David Hearn Alexander Levy
1:10 PM Dave Tentis Danny Willett Fabrizio Zanotti
1:20 PM Bill Haas Anirban Lahiri John Senden
1:30 PM Davis Love III Vijay Singh David Toms
1:40 PM Kiradech Aphibarnrat Scott Piercy Cameron Tringale
1:50 PM Branden Grace Hunter Mahan Thorbjorn Olesen
2:00 PM Matt Jones Chris Kirk Seung-yul Noh
2:10 PM Tommy Fleetwood Jerry Kelly Hideto Tanihara
2:20 PM Chesson Hadley Will MacKenzie Steve Schneiter
2:30 PM Johan Kok Ben Martin Chris Wood
2:40 PM Jim McGovern Geoff Ogilvy Daniel Summerhays
%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close